Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
When acquiring a vehicle through purchase or gift, Washington State law requires transferring ownership into your name within 15 days to avoid penalties. The fee is $50 on the 16th day, or $2 per day up to $125 thereafter. Private out-of-state sales require handling the transfer yourself. In-state dealer purchases arrange the transfer as part of the transaction.
Show All Answers
Washington residency laws are fairly straightforward. If you take any of the following actions, you can fit the Washington definition of residency.
If you want to get started on establishing Washington residency, one of the best things you can do is register to vote either online, by mail, or in person.
Washington State Department of Licensing has provided a help guide, but because every situation is different, we suggest you call our office at 509-397-6278 if you have further questions.